Friday, 06.05.2016 - Saturday, 07.05.2016 - Women’s Gaol Atrium

Conference "Foundations of the Supreme Law: 20th Anniversary of the Constitution"

On May 8, 1996, a two year mandate came to its fulfillment when the Constitutional Assembly successfully finalized a draft of a new constitution which was signed by Nelson Mandela into law on December 18, 1996.

"We wrote the Constitution collectively. We wrote it with our blood, and some people wrote it with their lives. If anyone were ever to violate my rights, our Constitution is my shield." Cyril Ramaphosa, Chairperson of the Constitutional Assembly

To commemorate this historical event and milestone for the formation of a democratic South Africa, the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung,  Constitution Hill and the German Institute for Federal Studies, are organizing a conference at Constitution Hill in Johannesburg – a place which reminds us of the horrors of the past and yet shows us the reality of the present and embraces the promises of the future.

Due to the limited space, we want to confirm a list of attendees by May 1, 2016. Therefore, interested participants are required to confirm their participation by sending an email to Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung’s contact person on the conference no later than April 30, 2016:


Agness Mtinkheni Munthali
Email: Agness.Munthali(at)
Phone: +27 (0) 11 341 0270

Speakers include

  • Hon Judge Albie Sachs
    Former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa
  • Adv Thuli Madonsela
    Public Protector South Africa
  • Hon Judge Johann van der Westhuizen
    Former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa
  • Justice Sisi Khampepe
    Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa
  • Hon Nkosi Sango Patekile Holomisa, MP
    Deputy Minister of Labour
  • Hon John Jeffrey, MP
    Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development
  • Hon Zak Yacoob
    Former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa and Researcher
  • Nomboniso Gasa
    Analyst and Freelance Writer on Gender, Political and Cultural Issues
  • Hon Thandi Modise
    Chairperson, National Council of Provinces
  • Prof Hugh Corder
    Professor of Public Law, University of Cape Town
  • Prof Leon Wessels
    Honorary Professor of International Law, North West University
  • Mac Maharaj
    Former Presidential Spokesperson
  • Prof Penny Andrews
    Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Cape Town
  • Dr Sandra Liebenberg
    H.F. Oppenheimer Chair in Human Rights Law, University of Stellenbosch
  • Dr Aninka Claassens
    Director, Centre for Law and Society, University of Cape Town
  • Dr Nomalanga Mkhize
    Lecturer, Dept of History, Rhodes University
  • Prof Nico Steytler
    South African Research Chair in Multilevel Government, Law and Policy
  • Prof Hans-Peter Schneider
  • Mayor David Ramokgopa
    Mayor, Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality
  • Dr Reinhard Gaier
    Judge, Federal Consitutional Court of Germany
  • Dr Nicolas Haysom
    Special Representative for the UN, Afghanistan
  • Prof Herta Däubler-Gmelin
    Former Member of Parliament and Chair of the Human Rights and Humanitarian Assistance Committee of the German Parliament
  • Prof Lourens M. Du Plessis
    Research Professor, Faculty of Law, North West University

South Africa Office

34 Bompas Road
Dunkeld West

+27 11 341 0270
+27 11 341 0271

Team & Contact

About us

back to top