Fort Hare Autumn School Call for Application 2023

South Africa needs progressive leaders. Will you be one of them?


The Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung South Africa believes in the power of young people. It invites 25 politically engaged, aspiring and talented students from Eastern Cape Universities (Fort Hare, Rhodes, Nelson Mandela University and WSU) to the 2023 “Fort Hare Autumn School on Social Democracy and Political Economy” – a leadership programme supplementing the formal academic curriculum of university students. It is a unique opportunity to enhance your critical thinking, leadership qualities and knowledge on Social Democracy and Political Economy and develop networks with other progressive activists and academics. The Autumn School defines Social Democracy as the equal realisation of the fundamental values of freedom, justice and solidarity. The programme aims to enable South Africa’s next generation of socially responsible and politically active citizens and leaders who promote a better life for everyone.

Where and When:
The Fort Hare Autumn School consists of three modules that run through the year as block sessions, additional virtual engagements in between as well as a graduation ceremony in 2024. Each module looks at a specific theme.

How to apply:
Submit the following information about yourself to your respective university representative:
•    A completed Application Form (download here)
•    A motivation letter or essay (max 500 words, Font: Arial 12, single spacing) telling us what kind of future leader you aspire to be, what you have to offer and what you hope to gain
•    Curriculum Vitae
•    Proof of registration
•    Academic Record

Closing date: 5 May 2023

Application via email:
    Fort Hare: Ms Sakhathina Mnonopi, smnonopi(at)ufh.ac.za 
    NMU:         Ms Tozama Mnonopi, Tozama.Mnonopi(at)mandela.ac.za
    Rhodes:     Ms Nwabisa Mkosana, pgfunding(at)ru.ac.za 
    WSU:         Dr Stenford Matenda,  wczhs(at)wsu.ac.za 

Or hand-deliver it to:
Fort Hare: Centre for Leadership Ethics in Africa, 2nd Floor, Stewart Hall, King William’s Town Road, Alice
Nelson Mandela University: Department of Research Capacity Development, Main Building, 13th Floor, Room 1314, South Campus
Rhodes: Room 219, Main Admin Building, Drostdy Road, Rhodes University
WSU Butterworth Campus:  Lumka Jikwana, CLTD Senior Secretary, CLTD Department, Office No Sc 029, N2 Ibika, Walter Sisulu University 
WSU Buffalo City Campus:   Liziwe Sbuqashe, CLTD Admin Assistant, CLTD Department, Office No. GF12, 19 Manchester Road, Chiselhurst, Walter Sisulu University
WSU Queenstown Campus:   Siyanda Rondile. CLTD PAL Admin, CLTD Department, Office No D 20, Masibulele Site, Walter Sisulu University 
WSU Mthatha Campus:  Sisonke Kewana, CLTD Senior Secretary, CLTD Department, Nelson Mandela Drive Site, Mthatha Walter Sisulu University 

Watch this video to learn more about Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung.

South Africa Office

34 Bompas Road
Dunkeld West

+27 11 341 0270
+27 11 341 0271

Team & Contact

About us